It’s a beautiful thing

As of this week the students have taken their instruments home. Every instrument has come back to school with them, they have returned unscathed, and some of the kids are really practicing (others not so much)! For me (Delia -Director), I love to walk through the halls of the school and see the instruments in the classrooms waiting to come to their lessons. It seems like a lovely and happy decoration to have a cello and two trombones in the corner, and a reminder to our students that they are part of our music community outside of school.

Last night I walked out to unlock my bike and head home. Usually I run into a few Tune Up Philly kids and their families as I put on my lights and my helmet. It entertains the kids A LOT to see me riding my bike down Broad Street so I usually make it a point to seek them out. Across the street from me were two boys and their grandmothers at the SEPTA bus stop and in each of their hands was a violin. As I rode down Broad Street, I saw a trumpet and french horn heading into the subway station. Best of all, I stopped at a red light and waved as one of our second graders walked across the street into the Richard Allen projects, holding hands with his mom and brother, the violin slung over mom’s shoulder.

It’s a beautiful thing to see all these instruments go home.

Saadiq celebrates backstage after playing

Leave a Reply

